Limericks 1

Limericks will be published in sets of ten. This is the first one.

There once was a fly on the wall.
I wonder why didn’t it fall.
Because its feet stuck,
Or was it just luck,
Or does gravity miss things so small?

A wonderful bird is the pelican;
His beak can hold more than his belican.
He can hold in his beak
Enough food for a week,
Though I’m damned if I know how the helican!

The incredible Wizard of Oz
Retired from his business becoz,
Due to up-to-date science,
To most of his clients,
He wasn’t the Wizard he woz.

There was a young woman named Bright,
Whose speed was much faster than light.
She set out one day
In a relative way
And returned on the previous night.

To her friends, that Miss Bright use to chatter:
“I have learned something new about matter.
My speed was so great
That it increased my weight;
Yet I failed to become any fatter.”

First let me explain that I’m cursed.
I’m a poet whose time gets reversed.
Reversed gets time
Whose poet a I’m.
Cursed I’m that explain me let first.

The limerick is never averse
To expressing itself in a terse
Economical style
And yet, all the while,
The limerick is always a verse.

There once was a man from Darfur
Whose limericks stopped at line four.
When asked why this was,
He just said: “Because.”

There once was a poet named Heinz
Who wrote limericks of only two lines.

There once was a man from Verdun.

2 thoughts on “Limericks 1

Leave a Reply

